Through a Beijing Hutong

Beijing Hutong alley

Beijing is famous for its Hutongs, which are old neighborhoods with narrow streets and winding alleyways. They stand in stark contrast to Beijing’s mile-wide streets and squares that characterize Beijing government areas.

A few weeks ago I wandered through a Hutong near Dongzhimen– here are the pictures of places (mostly doorways) and people I met along the way.

Beijing hutong watermelon man

This guy was my favorite- I asked if I could take a picture of him, and his reaction was, “of course!” Since he seemed surprised at the question, I explained that as a blond girl in China, many people take pictures of me and very few bother to ask my permission beforehand. Since he was sitting outside half naked, drinking some baijiu and eating watermelon, I figured I would extend the curtesy.

Beijing hutong doorway 1

IMG_2072_2

I was enthralled by the doorways- they remind you of the history that these Hutongs hold. You can also wander down pretty  much anywhere you want. If you aren’t careful you might end up in an old Beijinger’s living room.

Beijing Hutong doorway 3

The mom didn’t notice my take the picture, but the toddler on her back certainly did-

Beijing Hutong basket toddler

The Beijing Hutongs are certainly gorgeous to talk through, but sometimes you just need to take a nap instead.

Beijing Hutong nap outside

If you find yourself looking for something awesome to eat, look no further than Palms L.A., a Mexican-Korean fusion place in  Hutong near Gulou. I got the kimchi quesedilla, and it was fantastic!

14 Zhangwang Hutong, Xicheng District; 西城区 张旺胡同14号

I hope you enjoyed this walk though a Beijing Hutong- for more information about finding jobs in China, reach out to us here on WordPress, visit our website, or email us at teach@goglobaljobs.com. We look forward to meeting you soon!

Leave a Reply

