10 Life Lessons I’ve Learned While Teaching Abroad

We loved this veteran teacher’s reflections on living and teaching abroad.
For more information about teaching opportunities in China, visit our website: http://www.goglobaljobs.com

Nomad Notions

This article was originally published by Jenna Longoria on the Thought Catalog.
As a traveling teacher, I have spent the past 4 years of my life growing physically, mentally, and spiritually. I am constantly learning, and being tested by the beautiful challenges that life catapults my way. I have lived in the same neighborhood as drug dealers in Honduras, bribed an immigration officer in Indonesia in order to be granted “permission” to board my flight, been quarantined for hours in an immigration office in El Salvador, robbed at knife point in Nicaragua, and the most challenging of all: I have taught a class of 18 kindergartners in a low income school in Honduras. Despite these minor hiccups, I wear a smile on my face, and carry a heart filled with gratitude for the experiences. Yes I am a teacher. But the biggest teacher of all has been the experience itself.

10…

View original post 982 more words

Leave a Reply

